The Ten Paramis



The Pali word Parami means ‘excellent’ and refers to the ten excellent qualities of the heart that grow out of Loving Kindness.


*Dana Parami Sampanno

Dana Upa Parami Sampanno

Dana Paramatta Parami Sampanno

Metta Karuna Mudita Ubbekha Parami Sampanno

Itipiso Bhagava


His/her Parami of * (dana/generosity) is impeccable

His/her higher generosity is impeccable

His/her highest generosity is impeccable

His/her loving compassion, forgiveness, sympathetic joy, openness are impeccable

Such is a Holy One


* replacing Dana with the following Paramis through the chant


Dana (generosity)

Sila (morality)

Nekkhama (sacrifice)

Pañña (wisdom)

Viriya (energy)

Khanti (patience)

Sajja (honesty)

Addhitana (commitment)

Metta (loving kindness)

Ubekkha (openness/courage)


These Paramis are the marks of a Bodhisattva, a spiritual being, a person whose life is rooted in a commitment to the well being and liberation from suffering of others.

This practice is a form of contemplation on the qualities of a Bodhisattva, the Buddhist archetype of a spiritual warrior, a being whose total commitment is the wellbeing of others. As we chant the Paramis our intention is to awaken each quality in our hearts and to consider their different levels.


Sukkhino Wa Kemmino Hontu

Sabbhe Satta Bhavantu Sukhitattha


May happiness and well-being arise

May all beings be content


Namo Ta Pei Kuan Shr Yin Pu Sa


Namo – hommage

Ta Pei – great compassion

Kuan – who hears

Shr – the world’s

Yin – sounds of lamentation

Pu Sa – Bodhisattva spiritual warrior